Obsession - Suspicious Minds

Obsession - Suspicious Minds


Physical CDR Single


Add To Cart

Disc 1

1. Suspicious Minds (Almighty Boys Vegas Radio Edit)
2. Suspicious Minds (Almighty Boys Vegas Club Mix)
3. Suspicious Minds (Radio Edit)
4. Suspicious Minds (Anthem Mix)
5. Suspicious Minds (NRG Synth Mix)
6. Suspicious Minds (Definitive Mix)
7. Suspicious Minds (Original Mix)
8. Suspicious Minds (Original Dub)
9. Suspicious Minds (LWP Mix)

'Suspicious Minds' is a song written by American songwriter and recording artist Mark James and made famous by the king of rock 'n' roll Elvis Presley! After James' recording failed commercially, the song was handed to Elvis and became one of the most notable hits of his career! The song is about distrust, with the character 'caught in a trap' between his feelings for past and current relationships. James also went on to write 'Always On My Mind', which would become another hit for Elvis as well as the Pet Shop Boys (and covered by our very own Obsession).

Presley's single was released in 1969 and reached number one in the United States as well as number two in the UK. It would be his seventeenth and final number-one single in the United States before his death. 'Suspicious Minds' has since been covered by a wide range of artists including Fine Young Cannibals and Pop Idol Gareth Gates, reinforcing the song's classic status and introducing it to new audiences. In 2010 the Almighty Remixers had the honour of reworking Elvis' version of the song, providing both Pop and Club mixes for the dancefloor! Then last year we repeated the magic with French disco queen Amanda Lear's string-laden arrangement for her own Elvis tribute album 'My Happiness'!

The Obsession version was one of Almighty's earliest releases back in 1992, issued on 12" vinyl with iconic comic book art and with a dub version entitled 'I Want You Too Much' on the b-side. It was later reissued as Obsession Goes To Vegas in two CD singles with additional mixes and an accompanying version of 'Always On My Mind'. Now over twenty years on from the original this new reload single brings together ALL of the mixes alongside brand new Almighty Boys 'Vegas' mixes, with all the glitz and glamour of the 'Entertainment Capital Of The World'!

For the Almighty Club Mix of Amanda Lear's 'Suspicious Minds' be sure to check out Almighty Essentials 5