Product Details

Maid In England

The Fourth and Final Studio Album by Divine

DIVINE (born Harris Glenn Milstead) was a drag performer who came to prominence as a cult movie star appearing in several John Waters films such as Pink Flamingos, Polyester and Hairspray.

In 1979 Divine released the dance single "Born To Be Cheap”, which kick-started a new chapter in his career, releasing a succession of camp and fun dance hits which filled the floors of predominantly gay club nights throughout the 80’s.

The compilation MAID IN ENGLAND, released in 1988, was the all-round performers fourth and last LP and features several of Divine’s Hi-NRG and Disco hits including the 1984 UK top 20 hitYou Think You’re A Man’ as well as ‘I’m So Beautiful’ (both produced by Stock/Aitken/Waterman) and re-mixes of ‘Walk Like A Man’ and Sam Cooke’s ‘Twistin’ The Night Away’.

DIVINE is a hugely respected cult figure in both the film and music world and still a great inspiration to many people due to his exuberant persona and performances.

MAID IN ENGLAND is essential listening for all Hi-NRG, Dance, Disco and Pop fans out there!


1. Divine's Theme
2. You Think You're a Man
3. Give It Up
4. I'm So Beautiful
5. Show Me Around
6. Walk Like A Man (Remix)
7. Twistin' The Night Away
8. Good Time '88
9. Hard Magic (Magic Mix)
10. Little Baby (Remix)
11. Hey You! (Remix)
12. Divine Reprise
13. You Think You're a Man (12" Mix)
14. I'm So Beautiful (12" Mix)
15. Walk Like A Man/Man Talk (12" Mix)