Talk about all things Almighty... the label, the mixes, the artists

Moderators: Lynn Almighty, Susie Almighty, The Almighty Crew


by The Almighty Crew » Thu Feb 28, 2013 5:34 pm

February is, of course, the most romantic month of the year, so to celebrate this amorous occasion and the recent release of British box office smash, Les Misérables, we have two tributes to the multi award-winning musical and one revitalized re-load single from the Almighty vaults - all tied together with hearts and ribbons, and the theme of love!

It's time to throw your hands up in the air with 'glee' for the first time in 2013, for our very own Almighty Glee Club returns with not one, but two, incredible versions of songs taken from the soundtrack of Les Misérables! One will have you high up in the clouds 'dreaming' up your best moves, while the other will make sure you're never 'on your own' on the dance floor again!

And following the huge success of last month's re-load single, Obsession is back again with a refreshed and revitalized version of 'Love Pains', which features a couple of sought-after Mighty mixes discovered deep within the DAT archives, plus two brand new mixes from the Almighty Boys too!


Almighty is excited to announce that we recently remixed Marina and the Diamond's latest single 'How to Be a Heartbreaker', which features on the official single released earlier this month and is available to buy from iTunes now!

If you haven't heard it yet, then take a listen!


*SINGLE: Almighty Glee Club - 'I Dreamed A Dream' £3.99
*SINGLE: Almighty Glee Club - 'On My Own' £3.99
*RE-LOAD: Obsession - 'Love Pains' £3.99


Whilst you're browsing our new singles in the Almighty Records store, don't forget that we're currently offering FREE postage worldwide on all physical orders of at least £15, when you enter promo code 'POSTIE' at the checkout!

And because February's such a short month, we've decided to extend the offer until Sunday 3rd March 2013, so if you're looking to complete your Almighty collections, now's the perfect time to stock up and save on all that postage!


As always, we'd love to know what you think of our new sounds and artwork designs on the Almighty Forum, or on the Almighty Facebook and Twitter pages!

P.S. Don't forget to check the Almighty news page tomorrow to see if you're one of the lucky winners of the February competition, and proud owner of the Almighty Autumn/Winter 2012 Showreel! And keep your eyes peeled for the March competition, coming soon!

Often hailed as one of the most famous theme tunes of all time, 'I Dreamed A Dream' is, of course, the unmistakable soundtrack to Les Misérables, the fourth longest-running Broadway musical in history, which was adapted into one of the biggest films of 2012 by Tom Hooper.

Written by Claude-Michel Schönberg, with English lyrics by Herbert Kretzmer, 'I Dreamed A Dream' is sung by the anguished, dying Fantine, who has just been fired from her job at a factory and been thrown out onto the streets in Les Mis. She thinks back to happier days and wonders at all that has gone wrong in her life...

The song has been covered many times since its 80s inception, including by the likes of Neil Diamond, David Essex and Aretha Franklin, before a little-known Scottish singer named Susan Boyle stunned the world with her own powerhouse version, in her audition for the UK television series Britain's Got Talent in 2009. Her performance tugged at the heart strings of millions across the globe and catapulted her into super stardom!

We at Almighty had a little feeling that 'I Dreamed A Dream' would shoot into the musical spotlight again, thanks to the recent release of the award-winning box office movie Les Misérables, and called upon our very own Almighty Glee Club singers to give it a makeover like no other! So if you've been dreaming of a song that will keep you going on the dance floors in 2013, here it is!

Track List:

01. I Dreamed A Dream (Almighty Radio Edit)
02. I Dreamed A Dream (Almighty Club Mix)
03. I Dreamed A Dream (Almighty Dub)
04. I Dreamed A Dream (Almighty Boys Radio Edit)
05. I Dreamed A Dream (Almighty Boys Club Mix)

'On My Own' is a heart-wrenching song taken from the soundtrack to Les Misérables musical - one of the longest-running Broadway shows of all time, which was adapted into the Golden Globe and BAFTA Award-winning movie in 2012!

Originally written as a solo part for Jondrette girl, Éponine, 'On My Own' shares the same tune as 'Fantine's Death' (Come to Me) and speaks of heartfelt longing and how the world appears to be different when separated from love...

Those who haven't yet seen the musical box office smash, may just recognise the song from when Katie Holmes sang it in a beauty pageant in Dawsons Creek, or even when Lea Michele's character from Glee sang it for her audition in the show's pilot episode!

Almighty has turned this lovelorn frown upside down and teamed up with our very own Almighty Glee Club to deliver a modern and uplifting take on the original that will have fans throwing their hands up in the air with 'glee' on the dance floors in 2013!

Track List:

01. On My Own (Almighty Radio Edit)
02. On My Own (Almighty Club Mix)
03. On My Own (Almighty Dub)
04. On My Own (Almighty Boys Radio Edit)
05. On My Own (Almighty Boys Club Mix)

Starting its success as a minor hit for American singer Yvonne Elliman in 1979, 'Love Pains' was propelled into the spotlight by cover versions from Liza Minnelli and not one, but two Almighty favourites, Hazell Dean and Kelly Marie - before Almighty worked its magic and brought it back into the limelight once again in 1999!

Written by Michael Price, Dan Walsh and Steve Barri, 'Love Pains' is a dance song, not surprisingly, about the pain, hurt and heartbreak that comes with a break-up - a sore subject that many of us can relate to...

Now somewhat of a cult classic, Minnelli's 1990 version was produced by none other than the Pet Shop Boys and Julian Mendelsohn, while Hazell Dean's 1989 version had the magic touch of club legends Phil Harding and Ian Curnow!

And that's all before Almighty got its hand on this dance lover's delight in 1999, keeping its sparkle alive with our very own Obsession, on the Gold-selling 'Ultimate Queer As Folk' soundtrack in 1999! 'Love Pains' also featured as the B-side of Obsession's much-loved single 'On A Day Like Today', as well as 'NRG Anthems: Volume 2' and 'We Love Stock Aitken Waterman: Volume 2'!

So due to 'almighty' demand, we've refreshed, revitalized and re-loaded this classic hit from Obsession, which also features two unreleased Mighty mixes, found deep within the DAT archives, plus a brand new 'discotastic' Radio Edit and Club Mix from the Almighty Boys - all for your listening, shimmying and shaking enjoyment in 2013!

Track List:

01. Love Pains (Almighty Definitive Radio Edit)
02. Love Pains (Almighty Definitive Mix)
03. Love Pains (7" Mighty Mix)
04. Love Pains (12" Mighty Mix)
05. Love Pains (Almighty Boys Radio Edit)
06. Love Pains (Almighty Boys Club Mix)

Almighty Club members not only get their hands on every single Almighty release a week ahead of the public, but also enjoy a 10% discount on all music and merchandise bought in-store, as well as exclusive members-only promos, freebies and competitions, and access to the Almighty VIP Club forum!

This monthly subscription service means you'll receive every Almighty release automatically, without you having to lift a finger to pick up the phone or place an order online... leaving you more time to be listening and dancing to all your new music!

So if you fancy yourself as an Almighty super fan, what are you waiting for? Head over to the Almighty Club page and apply now!
User avatar
The Almighty Crew!/almightycrew
Posts: 1551
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 6:19 pm
Location: Almighty Towers

Return to Almighty Music